History of Calvary Church
Calvary Church enjoys a rich history of over 125 years of worship and service that began on August 25, 1886 when the church first organized in Englewood, a Dutch neighborhood on the south side of Chicago, naming themselves the First Reformed Church of Englewood.
This nascent church joined the Reformed Church of America (RCA) denomination. A year later, the first building was constructed, hosting a congregation of 33 people. Six short years later, the congregation had grown to a size that a new church building was needed. This new building served our congregation until 1958, when we moved to a new facility just outside of the Englewood area, prompting a name change to Calvary Reformed Church of Chicago.